Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratana and Arjuna Awards 2015

By | November 28, 2015
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years immediately preceding the year during which award is to be given. Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years preceding the year of award.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committee headed by Mr. Justice V.K. Bali, former Chief Justice of Kerla High Court and consisting of eminent sportspersons and sports administrators.
Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has approved to confer Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards for 2015 upon the following sportspersons:
i)         Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ranta 2015
Ms. Sania Mirza (Tennis)
(ii)        Arjuna Awards 2015
1 Naib Subedar Sandeep Kumar (Archery)
2 Ms. M.R. Poovamma (Athletics)
3 Mr. Kidambi Srikanth Nammalwar (Badminton)
4 Mr. Mandeep Jangra (Boxing)
5 Mr. Rohit Sharma (Cricket)
6 Ms. Dipa Karmakar (Gymnastic)
7 Mr. Sreejesh P.R. (Hockey)
8 Mr. Manjeet Chhillar (Kabaddi)
9 Ms. Abhilasha Shashikant Mhatre (Kabaddi)
10 Mr. Sawarn Singh (Rowing)
11 Mr. Anup Kumar Yama (Roller Skating)
12 Mr. Jitu Rai (Shooting)
13 Shri S. Sathish Kumar (Weightlifting)
14 Mr. Bajrang (Wrestling)
15 Ms. Babita Kumari (Wrestling)
16 Ms. Yumnam Sanathoi Devi Wushu
17 Mr. Sharath M. Gayakwad Para-(Swimming)
The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2015.
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive medal, certificate and award money of Rs. 7.5 lakh and Arjuna Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and award money of Rs.5 lakh each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *