Short Note on Indian Ocean Rim Association – IORA

By | February 7, 2018

What is IORA

(1). IORA stands for Indian Ocean Rim Association

(2). It consists of coastal states bordering the Indian Ocean

(3). The IORA is a regional forum which bring together representatives of Government, Business and Academia, for promoting co-operation and closer interaction among them

(4). 21 member states : South Africa, Mozambique, Tanzania, Kenya, Madagascar, Comoros, Mauritius, Seychelles, Iran, Oman, UAE, Yemen, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, Australia and Somalia.

(5). Maldives, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Myanmar are not members

(6). Secretariat of IORA is located at Ebene, Mauritius.

(7). The organisation was first established as Indian Ocean Rim Initiative in Mauritius on March 1995 and formally launched in 1997 by the conclusion of a multilateral treaty known as the Charter of the Indian Ocean Rim Association for Regional Co-operation

(8). Current chairmanship : Indonesia

(9). Factual Information:

* The 2017 Indian-Ocean Rim Association (IORA) Summit (March 5-7, 2017) was the first IORA Summit. Held in Jakarta, Indonesia.

* Theme was “Strengthening Maritime Cooperation for a Peaceful, Stable and Prosperous Indian Ocean”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *